TalkBox identifies contacts in your account based on their email addresses and mobile numbers, to determine whether data coming into the account is new and unique, existing, or a duplicate.
If you're uploading a spreadsheet or data, or entering in a web form, you will need at least either an email address or mobile number for a contact to be created. If TalkBox finds an email or mobile that already exists, it will overwrite (i.e. 'update') the other fields for that contact. Contacts with only postal data will not be saved.
Working with Shared Contact Details
We recognise that some of your members/customers may share email addresses and mobile numbers.
Sharing an email address or mobile number can lead to conflicts when the data is being processed, and a TalkBox contact may appear to go ‘back and forth’ between members. This can lead to confusion, for example, one contact may have a membership that is a ‘full’ or ‘active’ membership, while the other is only ‘social’ or ‘resigned’.
We recommend that if you have members who share email addresses or mobile numbers, you have a couple of solutions:
- Ask your subscribers/members if they have a different email/mobile that they use, or
- If you are working with a member management/POS system, you can update the second member so that their email/mobile is listed under a ‘secondary contact’ or ‘comments’ field. That way, the contact’s details will remain, but will not be pushed through to TalkBox.
This would avoid the contact potentially changing back and forth between members.
For Integrated Accounts
If you have an integrated account, the standard process is that data is sent from your member management/POS system to Impact Data, which is then processed and sent to TalkBox. The majority of integrations with TalkBox are one way, so data/changes are not generally sent back.
For these accounts, simply deleting a contact from TalkBox means that they will only be re-added when the integration next runs.